Smokin’ Tofu Scramble

by Laura - Chronicles of Passion

It’s one of my unwritten goals to try a new recipe or a new ingredient every week.  I get great pleasure from mixing things up, trying different combinations, adding a change and something new.  Especially lately . . . I have been in one of those slumps ever since St. Patrick’s Day where I have been struggling to find the motivation to do all the work I know I need to be doing for school, wanting to just laze around too long in bed when the alarm goes off in the morning, and sit out in the spring sunshine doing everything unproductive.  I get this way often when school starts to get close to finishing and I long for summer but am sad to know that another year filled with good times, good people and good lessons is all coming to an end.  I blame it on St. Patrick really.  He was part of such an incredible day/night for me Saturday that now I have since gone into a nostalgic, green depression longing to have the day to do again . . .


But alas, St. Patrick’s comes but once a year and so I will have to rely on other means to pull me out of this little patch.  Like tonight’s dinner.  One of the new ingredients I tried lately was smoked paprika.  I had seen several recipes which called for smoked paprika but had never tried it myself.  A few weeks ago I had the pleasure of doing just that and I opened up a whole new plethora of possibilities.  I love it when that happens.  Much like kale did for me, or apple butter, or frozen bananas – but I have already talked extensively about the latter, so we won’t dwell on that again.  As for the smoked paprika, it adds a subtle but obvious smoky flavour to dishes, kicking it up a notch just enough to bring out the best flavours of the dish.  Not too spicy, not too smoky, but just delicious.  And definitely delicious enough to bring you out of any missing-the-weekend-can’t-find-my-motivation-slumps.  Smoked paprika called and he is smokin’ with motivation to pick up your mo jo.

 

Smokin’ Tofu Scramble

Smoked Paprika adds a lovely depth of flavour to this dish. Perfect as a lunch on its own or dinner served with some crusty bread and raw carrot sticks!

Ingredients (2 Servings)

  • 1/8 cup onion, sliced
  • 1/8 cup leeks, sliced
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 3 button mushrooms, diced
  • 1/4 tsp Smoked paprika
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp coriander
  • 1/4 tsp thyme
  • 1/2 cup canned, diced tomatoes with juice
  • 1 cup kale leaves
  • 1/8 cup shredded tofu
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste

Instructions

  • In a small frying pan on medium heat add leeks, onions, garlic and mushrooms. Begin to saute.
  • Add in spices and stir to coat vegetables.
  • Once fragrant, add tomatoes and tofu, cover and let simmer for about 10 minutes.
  • Add kale and tomato paste, reduce heat and replace cover, allowing the flavours to blend.
  • Remove cover if desired to reach a thicker consistency.
  • Serve alone, with bread or over rice, quinoa etc.

 

 

Also, if you are loving the idea of Tofu Scrambles, check out this recipe over at Fat Free Vegan.  This was the first one I tried a few weeks ago and it definitely left me in love . . . with tofu scrambles.  It even has Smoked Paprika as well, so you will be able to do a double smokin’ week of tofu scrambles!  Hopefully one of them will get your mo jo goin’ . . . it worked for me!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

